crossing up

13 Aug

///////\\\\\\\

a little experiment with cross-processing one of my 120 MV rolls. I was nervous how this would turn out, but i really like the moody contrast the cross created. I also had a few 35mm rolls cross processed which resulted in drastically different images. I’ll share those later this week.

{Long Point Wildlife Refuge, Martha’s Vineyard. Yashica MAT 124. July 2012} 

4 Responses to “crossing up”

  1. beth August 13, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    I love how this looks! What is cross-processing?

  2. abneal August 13, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    Cross processing or X-pro is basically developing your film in chemicals intended for other types of film. You wind up with interesting color shifts and saturations. For example, if you look at my previous post those shots are taken with the same camera on the same day but that film was developed regularly.

  3. LightHouseBlues August 14, 2012 at 3:18 am #

    Great tones! How did you scan these, did you do a lot of colour correction? I have not crossed Velvia myself, because the heavy pinkish color cast I’ve seen in crossed Velvia, but yours are beautiful!

    • abneal August 14, 2012 at 9:15 am #

      Thanks! I really love the pink undertones in the sand. The great people at Old School Photo Lab (also, 120 Processing) scan my negs for me. They also develop my film. I didn’t do any color correction on these two. I usually don’t do much any how…just a touch of contrast here or there but that’s it.

Leave a Reply

