Aquidneck Honey Hive Tour

15 Jun

///////\\\\\\\

A couple weekends ago Eric, Beth, Pete, and I piled into the Mini and made our way down to little Rhodie to meet conor for a hive tour and honey tasting hosted at Prescott Farm in Middletown. the tour was given by Jeff the Bee Man from Aquidneck Honey. Jeff has a bunch of hives on the Prescott property that he helps them maintain. I’d had wanted to learn about beekeeping for some time, and I have to say I got the best introductory lesson imaginable!!

when jeff mentioned putting someone in the bee suit, all of my friends immediately pointed to me. hells yes! I jumped at the opportunity to get a closer look!! you can see me suited up above as Jeff and I look for the queen in one of the hives.

and if you’re wondering, the honey jeff produces is out of this world! It’s darker and more complex tasting than any other honey I’ve tasted. Jeff makes the honey entirely without the use of chemicals, which i thoroughly appreciate. No smoke, no phermones, just happy bees and happy bees = damn tasty honey & heathy honey eaters 🙂   You need to try it for yourself. Aside from eating it by the spoonfull, I experimented with some this weekend in a honey & black tea glaze for a shortbread we baked at the beach house. Yum!

My thanks to Jeff for suiting me up and introducing me to the girls. He has a great (and funny) post on his blog about that day at Prescott. And thanks to eric for snapping those pics of me in the bee suit. if you can’t get enough honeybees, Janna who shot the hive tour for AH has her photos here.

One Response to “Aquidneck Honey Hive Tour”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. newport afternoon « eyes of ab - July 7, 2011

    […] shots from a walk around newport, after our bee outing a few weeks ago. it was a double lunch kinda day…first up snacks, aquidneck honey, and my […]

Leave a Reply

