great boston molasses flood

15 Jan

///////\\\\\\\

Ninety-two years ago today, a 50 foot wave of molasses cascaded through boston’s

north end.  Although i had heard of this horrible event, I thought it had to be urban

legend. oh no, this is the real deal. Look at these images from the boston public

library’s flickr stream. the molasses still dripping from that ladder, amazing.

the BPL has a great flickr stream, which has been very active of late.

be sure to check out their construction set as well.

5 Responses to “great boston molasses flood”

  1. Conor January 15, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    ! I love this. Moment of silence for those lost in the molasses

  2. Donna January 15, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    I have the book – a fascinating read about power, corporate short cuts, bigotry, and heroes – especially relevant after the Gulf Oil spill. Let me know if you’d like to borrow it –

    • abneal January 15, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

      ooh! Sounds good. I might have to grab this before my next trip!

  3. Marissa January 31, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    I totally thought the same thing when I heard the story from an ex native to Woburn, “This has to be a an urban legend!” So sad it’s true.

    • abneal January 31, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      I know, it sounds unfathomable!

Leave a Reply

